In Texas, a DWI is a serious offense with long term consequences. Even if this is your first offense, it may cost you thousands of dollars. A first offense DWI is a Class B misdemeanor and a conviction may result in the following consequences:
• You could be sentenced between 72 hours and 180 days in jail and/or a fine up to $2000 and:
• Suspension of your driver’s license
• A permanent criminal record
• You could face a possible surcharge from the Department of Public Safety between $1,000 and $2,000 per year for three years.
If you have a previous conviction for DWI, the punishment is “enhanced” or increased under Texas law.
An experienced lawyer review the video footage and other evidence from your case to determine whether the police officer had legal cause to stop your car, properly informed you of your rights concerning a blood or breath test, and correctly administered the Field Sobriety tests.