Under the Texas Penal Code, you may be arrested for assault if you:
1) Intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly cause bodily injury to another person,
2) Intentionally or knowingly threaten someone with imminent bodily injury, or
3) Intentionally or knowingly cause physical contact with another person when you know or should reasonably believe that the other person will regard the contact as offensive or provocative.
Many police departments such as those in Georgetown or Williamson County train their officers to arrest the person immediately, resulting in an incomplete investigation at the time of the arrest. There may be very little evidence for prosecution to use against you at trial. Fight the charges against you – contact the Law Office of Carissa L. Beene, PLLC.
Your charges may be enhanced to a second degree felony if the assault resulted in serious bodily injury or if a deadly weapon was used in the fight. A second degree felony is punishable by up to 20 years in prison and/or $10,000 fine.
Assaults involving family violence are taken very seriously in Texas. There are enhanced penalties for multiple offenses and you may lose your right to possess a gun. While you may want your case resolved quickly, you need to talk to a lawyer about the consequences of a plea deal and how to best address your case.